Drop Leaf[Don Corleon]

It’s not often that you get a CD compilation that comes chockful of quality songs. Tracks on the Drop Leaf rhythm definitely make for listening pleasure. What makes this CD really unique is that it has a lot of things going for it. It was voted Rhythm of the Year at the recently held Richie B Excellence Awards. It is also one that is in demand as the CD compilation carries three hit songs with a fourth seeming destined to follow the trend.

‘Longing For’ from Jah Cure; ‘Footprints’ from TOK and ‘Be Strong’ from Sizzla have all enjoyed the number one slot at one time or another on the local charts. Bounty Killer’s rare sojourn into singing ‘It’s OK’ is enjoying quite a buzz right now and from all indications, this one could soon be sitting in the number one position on the local charts.

The CD kicks off with ‘Intoxication’ from Gentleman. Delivered in a pleasing voice, it lulls you into a blissful state.

The maestro Maxi Priest comes next with ‘I Believe’, delivered like only he can. ‘Your Best Friend’ by Morgan Heritage is definitely the typical cheating story. The song is doubly enjoyable as sweet singing is laced with a rapping style from the Morgan Heritage clan.

Jeffrey Star joins the strong lineup on this compilation with ‘I’m Sorry’, a poignant love song that expresses regret over a messed up relationship. After ‘Footprints’, ‘It’s OK’ and ‘Be Strong’, the messenger himself, Luciano, contributes with ‘For the Leaders’. On this track he makes an appeal to the leaders of the world who are fighting war, “think about the youths who are dying out, crying out, victims of the system…” – it’s a cry from the heart and it’s hard to ignore the strong appeal.

‘Get You Girl’ by Anthony B is filled with determination and depicts a man who will go through anything to get his heart’s desire.

Tanya Stephens adds to the mix as only she can with ‘After You’. She expresses the longing and heartache a woman normally feels when it comes to picking up the pieces from a broken relationship.

The riddim carries twelve powerful tracks, each designed for maximum listening pleasure. No credible collection can be without this one; it’s a reggae masterpiece that will sit comfortably among the classics.

The Drop Leaf rhythm was produced by D Bennett for Don Corleon Productions and recorded and mixed at Vendetta Studios.